1867 British North America Act

1867 British North America Act

British system of governmentIn 1867 the British parliament passed legislation to create the British North America Act.  The British North America Act created a self-governing federation over its subjects living in trading posts in Turtle Island.  The act rebranded trading areas as provinces.

The foreign British North America Act excluded a large percentage of colonists from participating in the parliamentary and electoral system of the foreign colonial government because of religion, sex, race, amount of wealth and personal assets, and/or country of origin.

British legislative documents have a legal requirement of clarity and are drafted by parliamentary members and staff with education and degrees in law.

The new act ignored and excluded the 1610 Great Law of Peace Wampum Treaty and the 1610 Concordat of Peace and Friendship with the Holy See, Pope Paul V.  The 1760 Akwesasne Wolf Belt and the 1760 Covenant Chain Belt, treaties with the British monarchy.

The sovereign rights of the Great Law of Peace tribes and territories of Turtle Island were not included in the British North America Act.  Item 24; Indians and Lands reserved for Indians, in the act, does not refer to any person, tribe, existing treaty or territory in Turtle Island by name.

While researching the genealogy of the Mi’kmaq Tribe I came across this statement “only 15 members of the British Parliament attended the vote for the British North America Act”.  British parliamentary law requires a quorum of 40 Members of Parliament, including the Speaker, to be met when voting on the passing of certain legislative bills.  In 1867 there were 658 elected members of the British Parliament.  Is this lack of interest shown by the British parliament the reason the legislation is so poorly drafted and fails to identify the people, sovereign leaders, tribes, confederacies and territories of Turtle Island by name?